Prof. Alan Lau (FIMechE, FIMMM, FRAeS, FHKIE, FIED, FIEAust)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Performance and Development)
Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Professor Lau is Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Performance and Development) of Swinburne University of Technology, Australia since April 2016. Prior to this appointment, he was appointed as Alex Wong/Gigi Wong Professor in Product Design Engineering and Associate Dean (Industrial Relation) in the Faculty of Engineering of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. Professor Lau has received numerous research and teaching awards since 2002. His published articles have received citations over 20,000 times with the h-index of 54 (web of science is > 4800 with h-index of 33). He was appointed as World Class University Professor by the Ministry of Education, Korea. He is an Academician of the European Academy of Science and Arts and a Fellow of many professional organizations. He is now also the International Vice President of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) (The first non-UK member is elected as Vice President in IMechE’s history) and Independent Non-executive Director of King’s Flair International (Holdings) Limited.

Prof. Masayoshi Tonouchi (JSAP Fellow)
Osaka University, Japan

Masayoshi Tonouchi received the B.S. and M.S. and Dr. E. degrees form Osaka University, Japan, in 1983, 1985 and 1988, respectively. From 1988 to 1989 he worked at the Faculty of Engineering Science of the same university. From 1989 to 1994 he joined the Faculty of Computer Science and System Engineering, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan. In 1994, he moved to Kansai Advanced Research Center, Communications Research Laboratory, Japan. From 1996 to 2000, he was an associate professor at the Research Center for Superconducting Materials and Electronics, Osaka University. Currently he is a professor in Institute of Laser Engineering, Osaka University and a concurrent professor of Nanjing University. His current research interests include ultrafast optical and terahertz science of strongly correlated electron systems and nanomaterials, and development-and-applications of terahertz systems such as the laser terahertz emission microscope, compact THz time-domain spectroscopy systems, and others. He is a member of the Optical Society of America, Materials Research Society, the Japan Society of Applied Physics, the Physical Society of Japan, and the Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers. He is an associate editor for Journal of Applied Physics, AIP since Jan.1st, 2015. He chaired many international conferences such as OTST 2013.

Prof. Qingsong Yu
University of Missouri, USA

Dr. Qingsong Yu is a Full Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at University of Missouri in the United States. Dr. Yu’s research has been focusing on non-thermal gas plasma technology and its applications in materials processing, surface modification, thin film deposition, and recently in plasma medicine and plasma dentistry.

Dr. Yu received his B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Tianjin University of China, and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from University of Missouri (1995, 1998). Since then, Dr. Yu has worked in microelectronics industry at Silicon Valley in California. In 2002, he joined the faculty in the Department of Chemical Engineering at University of Missouri and now he is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at University of Missouri. Dr. Yu has published over 100 refereed research papers in major international journals and holds a few US patents.

Prof. Yoshimi Watanabe
Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan

Yoshimi Watanabe is currently a full Professor of Engineering in the Department of Physical Science and Engineering at Nagoya Institute of Technology in Japan. He earned a Bachelor of Engineering in Metallurgical Engineering from Nagoya Institute of Technology in 1985, Master of Engineering and Ph. D in Materials Science and Engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1987 and 1990, respectively. After that, he worked at Kagoshima University at the Department of Mechanical Engineering from 1990 to 1992, and at Hokkaido University at the Department of Metallurgical Engineering from 1992 to 1995 both as a research associate, at Shinshu University at the Department of Functional Machinery and Mechanics from 1995 to 2005 as an associate professor. In 2005, he moved to Nagoya Institute of Technology as a full professor. He was worked at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory from 1997 to 1998 as a visiting scientist. His current research interests are metal matrix composites (MMCs) including functionally graded materials (FGMs), grain refining of cast aluminum using heterogeneous nucleation theory, improvement of microstructure and mechanical properties of additively manufactured (AMed) metals by addition of heterogeneous nucleation site particles, severe plastic deformation, Fe based shape memory alloy and high damping material.

Prof. Yoshihiro Terada
Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Dr. Yoshihiro Terada is an Associate Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan. The main activities of Dr. Terada are in the thermal and mechanical properties typically in metallic materials for high-temperature applications. His major fields of present interest are the creep mechanisms of heat-resistant magnesium alloys, the microstructure control of superalloys, and the development of advanced heat-resistant materials. Dr. Terada received the Doctor degree from Tokyo Institute of Technology (1993). He worked in the Division of Materials Science and Engineering at Hokkaido University (1993–1998), the Department of Metallurgy and Ceramics Science at Tokyo Institute of Technology (1998–2008), the Department of Materials, Physics and Energy Engineering at Nagoya University (2008–2011), and again Tokyo Institute of Technology (2011– ). Dr. Terada was the Chairperson of the superalloy branch in The 123rd Committee on Heat-Resisting Materials and Alloys, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) (2018–2021), and is an editorial committee member of The Japan Institute of Metals and Materials and The Japan Institute of Light Metals.



View previous speakers, please click.